Uggs + Crocs = Cruggs

August 27, 2007 at 2:19 pm 20 comments

Disclaimer: I’m sorry if this post offends some of you Ugg/Croc wearing folk.


I own a pair of Uggs, but bought them when they were only available in Australia years and years ago. I officially stopped wearing them the second a knock-off version showed up. Does that make me cooler than you? Probably. Now I only wear them to take my dog outside and even then, I’m mildly embarrassed.


I don’t own Crocs, but was tempted for 5 minutes last summer to buy a pair that looked like a ballet flat. I didn’t end up buying them, thank GOD.

People, these shoes are HIDEOUS. Don’t believe me? Here’s my mini pro/con list for Uggs and Crocs.

Pros:
– Comfortable
– Relatively durable

Cons:

– Ugly
– Make feet look swollen, fat, and 6 sizes larger
– Worn by 67% of Soccer Moms (Uggs)*
– Worn by 87% of Gardeners (Crocs)*
– Knockoffs readily available
– 100% Gross*

* Stats are 100% made up.

Anyway, that’s my opinion on them. Feel free to disagree!

I bring this up because some “genius” out there thought it’d be great to breed the two ugliest shoes.

Crocs + Uggs = Cruggs

Help me, people. I’ve had enough…I’m ready to have a Croc & Ugg bonfire party. I’m sure the melting Croc material will tear a hole in the ozone from the fumes, but that’s a risk I’m willing to take to eradicate these eye sores.

Thanks to Vivian for pointing out these monstrosities.

-Jenny

Entry filed under: Fashion, Fashion no-no's, Jenny, Shoes.

It was a group decision. Can you dress yourself?

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stephanie  |  August 27, 2007 at 5:00 pm

    AMEN SISTER.

    Reply
  • 2. clotheshorseok  |  August 27, 2007 at 6:29 pm

    Hilarious! I totally agree! Crocs are so bad! Great Post!

    http://clotheshorseok.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 3. vivian  |  August 28, 2007 at 9:50 am

    hahahahaha to the melting plastic fumes. mmm.

    Reply
  • 4. Lesley  |  August 28, 2007 at 11:51 am

    This, is my worst nightmare come true. I could only laugh at the sight of these! Please, throw the bonfire, I’ll gladly join you!

    Reply
  • 5. Marie  |  August 28, 2007 at 3:51 pm

    I just threw up a little bit.

    The worst part is that, for some ungodly reason, Nordstrom (of all places) sells those pegs that plug into the holes in your crocs. So now, not only can you wear ugly shoes, but you can plug them with ugly charms. Maybe people should just wear some ulgy socks and call it good.

    Reply
  • 6. cornerseat  |  August 28, 2007 at 10:11 pm

    aside from being unattractive, crocs pose a hazard to their wearers too. it’s big news in asia. check out these sites:

    http://crocsaccidents.blogspot.com/

    http://kikay.exchange.ph/index.php/2007/08/21/crocs-warning/

    be warned!

    Reply
  • 7. Jaclyn  |  September 5, 2007 at 2:01 pm

    While I am a little late looking at this post, THANK YOU. There are too many people that feel the need to attempt to wear these hideous god awful shoes out in public. I would not even wear these to take the trash out. I have the original Uggs and retired them as soon as there were knock offs made.

    I strongly feel that you have not offended anyone and that you have made a perfectly valid point!!!

    Reply
  • 8. Monica Kennedy  |  September 6, 2007 at 11:20 am

    I am late on this one BUT I could not agree more, even in Europe you can find these crocs (I would have NEVER imagine.) They are the ugliest thing that ever hit this planet, please take them off the market, they burn my eyes!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  • 9. Andrea  |  February 2, 2008 at 3:24 am

    I worked for six months in Disney World. Every day, even during the cold winter nights, hundreds of people would show up wearing socks and Crocs (with the “special” Mickey Mouse holes). My store even sold the Jibbitz (that’s what the pegs are called) in the shapes of Disney characters. Kids especially were crazy for them.

    But I have to say, brand-new Crocs have a terrible smell. I will never forget it as long as I live.

    Reply
  • 10. Massie  |  May 18, 2008 at 1:51 pm

    ewwww crocs are nasty!!!!! but uggs are ah mazing! Puh-lease. how are you cooler than moi? duh! you’re nawt! i am massie block!!!!! google me. i have my own blog. i love uggs. you obviously have no taste in anything except that crocs are gross.

    Reply
  • 11. Alexx  |  June 13, 2008 at 4:01 am

    When I saw those HIDEOUS Crocs for the first time, I laughed. i didn’t think anyone would wear them: who wants to pay more than, what, a dollar (or a euro) for a piece of stinking rubber with holes in it? Well, a lot of people, obviously. Probbaly brainwashed by the retarded idiots who invented those demon shoes.

    @Massie:Hun, if you think you’re fashionable wearing a pair of $250 house shoes which make your feet look like they’re 6 times their normal size, YOU are the one without taste. Uggs are too expensive and too boring, unflattering or beautiful of any kind to make you look good.

    Reply
  • 12. Kendall  |  June 14, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    “Massie”, you do know that Massie Block is a fictional character. Also, no one cares what a washed-up fake teenager says on a WOMAN’S blog. This is not a teenager’s blog. They do not care.

    Reply
  • 13. Sammi  |  September 6, 2008 at 6:16 pm

    I hate crocs so much. they are hideous and make your feet look big. I love Uggs so much but its okay you dont. Not everyone does. This girl I knew had YELLOW UGGS. how stupid. Yours are pretty cute but come on. YELLOW

    Reply
  • 14. Kali  |  November 11, 2008 at 12:49 pm

    I LOVE UGGs but hate crocs

    Reply
  • 15. Peta  |  January 25, 2009 at 6:31 pm

    I literally cannot believe my eyes!! Like the planet needs more landfill!!

    Reply
  • 16. Julia  |  April 29, 2009 at 10:39 am

    WHAT JUNK ARE YOU ON UGGS ARE HOT!

    Reply
  • 17. Cullien  |  August 11, 2009 at 9:11 am

    I don’t think Crocs and Uggs are ugly, they’re kind of cute :3

    Even if they’re ugly, they’re comfortable and that’s what’s important for me, at least they don’t make my feet ache and are really comfortable.

    You can wear them for any occasion except rains, but which shoes would you use for rains which are not made out of rubber and high?

    Those Cruggs do look comfortable.

    Reply
  • 18. Uggs  |  August 22, 2009 at 11:22 am

    I don´t think this is a good combination: plastic plus sheepskin

    Reply
  • 19. lillyann  |  November 5, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    wow. u people r i diots. get a life. get off the computer be active get healthy! god! who cares!

    Reply
    • 20. iseriouslyhateyou  |  February 12, 2014 at 7:57 pm

      lol you’re hilarious, I love it.

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Questions?

Email us at wearetrendi@gmail.com

Take me back to…