High waisted jeans violate my morals and my bellybutton.

September 6, 2007 at 2:58 pm 8 comments

I’m REALLY not a huge fan of high waisted jeans. Reasons why:

#1) The odd diaper-esque way everyone’s butt and front butt look in them (EVEN IF you’re 95 pounds, you’ll still gain a front-butt in these jeans)
#2) The way I imagine they would irritatingly rub against the bellybutton ring I have in as a memorial to being 18 and carefree.
#3) I wouldn’t be able to enjoy a satisfying meal for fear of looking extra bloated.

The Fug Girls, while covering NY fashion week said “Call us crazy, but if high-waisted jeans looked like crap on us and everyone else the first time, why should we take a ride on that rickety, stank-ass bandwagon now?”

But my dear friend Marie asked:

“I’m looking for a good pair of mid to high-rise jeans that are lighter in weight, and light in color. This pair (below) by J Brand caught my eye, but I’m looking for other options to compare before I purchase.”

I can put my dislike for high-waisted denim aside to help a friend in need. 🙂

If you MUST go high-rise, opt for a wide leg (trouser-cut or flare). The wide leg will balance the shape so it’s more angular and less pear-ish.

Just to show an example of how atrocious high-waisted, skinny leg jeans can look ON A MODEL, witness the horror:

(Saks)
I’m sure this model weighs about 96 pounds soaking wet, but it looks like she pulled on a pair of black tights over a diaper. Ick.

SO, now that we all understand THOSE won’t work, here’s some jeans that might. I ordered them from most expensive to least expensive.

Kasil, $213
These Kasil Jeans (Chelsea, $213 at TrueJeans) jeans are mid-rise with a trouser cut. They have dark stitching and minimal accents.

Back pockets are soooo critical on jeans. Here’s the pockets for the Kasil jeans. Even though they are ‘trouser’ pockets, they keep the outline of where the pocket is so the butt doesn’t look like a denim ocean.


Jenny Jen, $181

I like these just because of the name. Ha. Anyway, these are a higher-rise, light-wash, light-weight jean. $181 at ShopBop.

Pine IV, $176
These Kyoto jeans from Pine IV have a lighter, more distressed wash. If you didn’t know, Pine IV is a local Seattle area company. They’re the anti-low rise jeans and make their jeans 100% Butt-Cleavage free. They have a back-flap pocket and are more casual. (TrueJeans)

Dittos, $165
These look a bit awkward to me (might be the key chain hanging from one of the belt loops?) but if you like the lighter wash and something true to the 70’s feel of high-rise, wide-bottom jeans, you might like these jeans by Dittos.


Citizens of Humanity, $161

For something more casual, Citizens of Humanity has a high-rise jean with a boot-cut leg. It comes in a dark wash and more of the ‘classic’ lighter Citizens wash. $161 at Saks.

7 for all Mankind, $143
And finally, an oldie but a goodie, 7 for all Mankind has a wide leg, high-rise jean. (It’s amazing to think how 7 for all Mankind reworked the way most women thought about denim prices.) $143 at Saks.

Happy high-rise shopping!

-Jenny

Entry filed under: Ask Trendi, Designers, Fashion, Fashion no-no's, jeans, Jenny, Shopping.

Hot Colors- Spring 2008 Diamonds, Diamonds, Diamonds!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stephanie  |  September 6, 2007 at 3:19 pm

    Sorry, but the Dittos jmake me want to vomit.
    I really love the Kasil pair that you showcased, though. I just might have to try those out. I’m in a horrible “I hate all of my jeans” phase. Ugh.

    Reply
  • 2. Marie  |  September 6, 2007 at 3:24 pm

    The Dittos are EXACTLY what I was looking for (minus the keychain, of course)! I love Trendi forever! Thanks Jen!

    Reply
  • 3. Marie  |  September 6, 2007 at 3:25 pm

    And I just now read Steph’s comment, which is making me just die with laughter. Steph, when you see them on, you may not be so disappointed in me. I promise, I’ll win your respect back.

    Reply
  • 4. jennyistrendi  |  September 6, 2007 at 4:20 pm

    I love the Kasil pair too. The buttons are my favorite part of those jeans.

    The key chain on the Dittos is so hideous and I’m not quite sure WHY THE HECK they put it on the jeans. Talk about an eyesore.

    You guys make me laugh! I can’t wait to see those jeans on you, Marie.

    Reply
  • 5. Stephanie  |  September 6, 2007 at 4:41 pm

    I have no doubt that you will looking amazing in the Dittos, Marie. You could wear a giant neon orange garbage sack and look flawless. 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. paige  |  November 10, 2007 at 7:00 am

    hiya,,,i love high waisted jeans…although i do like the other jeans you showed,,,i own a pair of high waisted jeans and i dont have a camel toe in them…x

    Reply
  • 7. Rosie  |  November 19, 2007 at 4:37 pm

    Oooh, I just ordered a pair of Pine IV Kyotos….I love low rise jeans too but have two babies and find I just can’t keep up with pulling them up over my ass all the time anymore, so do end up with frightening plumber’s butt moments while bending over for sippy cups at Barnes and Noble train table or to pick up my one year old from the slide! I am hoping these are the answer, and that I will still look hip and they won’t have that horrid high waist mom jean look!!

    Reply
  • 8. Cheryll  |  October 28, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    i love the Pine IV Kyotos that you have showcased it fits on one of my pink blouse i used to wear in my office. well i guess i must try it though i love wearing skinny jeans. it’s worth a buy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Questions?

Email us at wearetrendi@gmail.com

Take me back to…


