Diamonds, Diamonds, Diamonds!

September 6, 2007 at 4:16 pm 3 comments

I like to be current on trends with fashion and jewelry and realized I was NOT up-to-date on diamonds.

Fortunately, I met Melissa, the Operations Director at Abazias. Abazias sees a lot of diamond sales through their website and watches for trends within the diamond industry. I asked Melissa to share a few diamond trends with me and she kindly agreed.


Did you know…

Some women prefer to rub, smear, or paint diamonds on themselves? Sounds nuts? It’s not. Diamond dust is cropping up in a plethora of beauty items from foot files to nail polish to face scrubs. Creme de la Mer has a facial treatment that has sea quartz and diamond dust mixed in. If anyone wants to be a really, really great friend- get me this facial.

Did you know…

As much as we think we change, we just stay the same? Melissa said the most popular cut for diamonds is STILL the round brilliant cut. She did say that it was nice to see more obscure cuts, like the Trillian cut, make their way to the top part of the list.

Did you know…
Fancy colored diamonds aren’t just for Kobe Bryant’s wife? Canary yellow diamonds are increasing in popularity for “regular” people. (I recently lusted over a pair of canary yellow princess cut studs. I loved the warm color against my skin.) Melissa said a lot of celebrities want to be on the ‘cutting edge’ of jewelry trends and prefer to buy more rare colors (she mentioned Beyonce’s diamond choices) and those trends inevitably trickle down to the masses. (This might totally give away how much MTV and E! I actually watch, but wasn’t Heidi’s engagement ring from Spencer on The Hills almost a replica of the one Kobe Bryant gave his wife?)

Did you know…
Diamonds don’t have to be just gifts or engagement rings? I’m sure you “knew” that, but some of you gals are still waiting for someone else to buy you a diamond. Ladies, don’t wait! Melissa showed me these rings on Abazias and they’re all under ~$1000.

I wanted to give a big THANK YOU to Melissa for taking the time to talk with me!

-Jenny

Entry filed under: accessories, Celebrities, Jewelry.

High waisted jeans violate my morals and my bellybutton. I hate my jeans

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Doubtful  |  September 7, 2007 at 3:41 pm

    And only a few little African children will have to labor in a mine for you to have glittery ears!

    Reply
  • 2. jennyistrendi  |  September 7, 2007 at 4:09 pm

    You bring up a good point, Doubtful. “Conflict free” diamonds are increasing in demand due to the harsh treatment of children and other workers in diamond mines.

    I think we often forget what another person may have gone through in order for us to own nice jewelry or wear nice clothes.

    All we can do is try our best, right? Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Reply
  • 3. Patrick  |  October 31, 2007 at 8:21 am

    really really nice work you have here!!!!

    i had a post once about the same topic! see it here!

    http://www.patrickmontes.net/giftbox/

    lets trade links if you want to.. just let me know!
    i’ll give you a stumble upon thumbs up for now!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Questions?

Email us at wearetrendi@gmail.com

Take me back to…


