Can you dress yourself?

August 28, 2007 at 11:19 am 3 comments

Most people would answer, “Yes, of course I can dress myself!”

I would argue that you can’t.

I’m on one end of the spectrum- I spend my whole day thinking about fashion, looking at it, talking to people about it, writing about it. I often forget that general America doesn’t know how to dress themselves.

While traveling last week, I witnessed hundreds of fashion atrocities. A short list:

– Nylons with thong-toed shoes
– Sheer white dress with bright yellow granny panties
– T-shirt with a hole on top of the left shoulder, paired with short sweatpants and Adidas sandals (I think I saw this “look” at least 15 times in the airports)
– Bathing suits 5x too small
– And the worst…white socks with black shoes AT A WEDDING.

I witness things like this and am shocked, even though I know I shouldn’t be after a week of people watching in 4 different states.

One of the other thoughts that comes to my mind is how honest are we with each other? If your friend attempted to walk out the door in a fashion “no-no”, would you stop him or her? I know I would. I would stop any of my friends and acquaintances.

Oh, for the sake of humor, you let it happen, snap a picture, and send it to me so I can share it. 🙂

-Jenny

Entry filed under: Fashion no-no's, Jenny, Shoes, Travel.

Uggs + Crocs = Cruggs What to wear to an outdoor concert

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lesley  |  August 28, 2007 at 11:57 am

    This is why the invitation should inform the guest of the dress code. Sadly, I think people forget to look in the mirror before leaving.

    Reply
  • 2. WendyB  |  September 4, 2007 at 8:16 am

    The fact that she’s the mother of the groom is what REALLY makes this picture!

    Reply
  • 3. Andrea  |  February 2, 2008 at 3:28 am

    Jenny, avoid theme parks at all costs 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Questions?

Email us at wearetrendi@gmail.com

Take me back to…


