Ask Trendi: Denim help!

August 13, 2007 at 2:59 pm 4 comments

I am in the market for two great pairs of jeans, at $200 or less per pair. I want one standard boot cut pair with a low–but not TOO low rise–that I can easily dress up or down. I also want a pair of wider-legged trouser-style jeans. I prefer dark washes to light washes. I’ve got long legs and am thin but also pretty curvy/muscular (years of soccer and track), so finding the right fit has never been easy.

My goal is to spend some money on quality jeans and not have to think about buying jeans for the next couple of years!

-Trista

So Trista wants 2 pairs of jeans that will last the next few years.

#1: Boot cut jeans with a low-rise, but not so low she’s advertising her taste in underwear.
#2: Wide leg trouser jeans.

Her challenges:

#1: Long and thin legs with a muscular build
#2: Need to last for the next few years

Let’s start with the boot cut jeans.

The ‘Thumbelina’ Odyn Jeans ($168) meet all your needs: Under $200, boot cut, low-rise without being too low, and the color won’t go out of style for the next few years. Jennifer Garner, another gal who is tall, thin, but muscular, wears these jeans.

Bonus: The details include Asian silk lined front pockets and orange silk lining on the inside seams which looks adorable when the jeans are cuffed.

I was walking behind a girl last week as I was heading out of the office and I was totally transfixed on her jeans. The fit was amazing so I shouted out, “What kind of jeans are those?” and her answer was “William Rast”.

Cameron Diaz (as we all know, JT’s ex) and Jessica Biel (JT’s current girlfriend) wear these jeans and they are both gals who are thin, but have curves and muscles too.

The ‘Sadie‘ jeans by William Rast (aka Justin Timberlake) have a straight leg (not boot cut), and have a good wash and a classic cut. The only drawback is the price ($215) and the embroidery, if it’s not your thing.

From what I’ve seen, these jeans are extremely flattering and a pair of William Rast jeans are on my shopping list for this fall.

Now let’s look at some wide-leg options.

I really like Gold Sign’s ‘Orchid’ wide leg trouser ($215). The color is super dark, the rise is higher (but not so high they could be considered ‘high waist’ jeans), and there is minimal detailing on the jeans so you’re not distracted by massive embroidery on the back.

These Hudson jeans ($185) are another choice of Jessica Biel. Jessica Alba and Brooke Shields also wear them. While they’re not especially trouser-y looking, the wash is dark and classic and the back pockets add a nice touch without being too distracting.

I hope this helps! Good luck and Happy Shopping!

-Jenny

Entry filed under: Ask Trendi, Celebrities, Designers, Fashion, jeans, Jenny, Shopping.

Hey, check it out! Quick Question…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Trista  |  August 14, 2007 at 7:11 am

    Thanks, Jenny, this is awesome!

    I will definitely report back after I go shopping 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Jaclyn  |  August 14, 2007 at 10:54 am

    The jeans you picked are awesome and I know that if you do not have time to go to the store you can always shop at http://www.truejeans.com. You put in your measurements and everything and they will find the right jeans for you. The jeans that Jenny pointed out are all available at the site and they will put everything in for you!
    It is just a little tip for easy shopping online with great results!!!

    Jaclyn 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Ann  |  August 14, 2007 at 2:02 pm

    I am soo curious about those odyn jeans, I’ve yet to see them in stores in my area, would love to try on a pair one day! (too bad all cities aren’t like la and ny as far as shopping goes!)

    Reply
  • 4. Megan D.  |  August 15, 2007 at 7:43 am

    Hey Everyone!

    I actually work with True Jeans! I’m so happy to see that our service is helping everyone shop online with confidence!! It’s hard enough for me with a short but *cough* wide frame to find jeans in the store let alone online, but with the new fit technology on True Jeans it’s that much less painful!

    To Ann, no worries, if you want to check out a few differnent styles of Odyn jeans check this page on our site. The cool thing about Odyn is that all their jeans are named after a character in Nordic Mythology..pretty cool huh?

    Well ladies, happy shopping to you all!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Questions?

Email us at wearetrendi@gmail.com

Take me back to…


