How to wear ‘modern-retro’ to the office

August 7, 2007 at 12:10 pm 1 comment

Sara asked,

Question, I have this dress, but am unsure of what shoes to wear with it. It has a 60’s vibe, so I was going to go with a retro style shoe, but when I try that together it looks too Austin Powers. How can I pull off a modern retro look to the office??


ABS Two-Tone dress, $185 at Saks.

First, I want to say this dress is fantastic. It can be worn to the office or for an evening out, but what really determines where you can wear it are the accessories.

The dress is bold so you’ll want to choose a more subdued shoe so the overall feel of the look is modern and sleek. You can have a retro element to the shoe, just be careful to not go too far.

So, having said that, here’s some shoe options for the office:

I’m showing these options in black, but would also recommend the same styles in deep red or a nude color (sooo great for elongating the legs).

I’m going to start with the most conservative and work my way to the more ‘fashion forward’ end of the spectrum. What you like depends on your taste and the office environment.


Totally classic and conservative option. MAXSTUDIO ‘Marais’ Pump, $138.95 at Nordstrom.


Wow- a heel you can actually walk in! Belle by Sigerson Morrison Lace Up Pump, $290 at Shopbop.


I love the 20’s vibe of these shoes, mixed with the 60’s vibe of the dress. Offbeat, but STILL (in my opinion) ok for the office. Dolce Vita York Lace Up Pump, $138 at Shopbop


A retro feel, but still a delicate heel and strap. Moschino Cheap & Chic Peep Toe T-Strap Patent Leather Pump. $440 at Shopbop.

If any reader has a suggestion, email me the link to a shoe you would pair with this dress and I’ll post it here! Jenny (at) trendi (dot) com.

-Jenny

Entry filed under: accessories, Designers, dresses, Fashion, Fashion no-no's, Jenny, Shoes, Shopping.

Finally- archives! Handbag Help

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Nancy  |  August 22, 2007 at 4:30 am

    I just love that dress! However, if you really want the modern retro look then you simply must wear pantyhose with it. Too much bare leg is inappropriate for an office setting or an evening out. I would wear a really sheer light nude pantyhose with the Moschino T-Strap patent leather pump shown above.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Questions?

Email us at wearetrendi@gmail.com

Take me back to…


