Who loves Sequins?

August 6, 2007 at 12:46 pm 5 comments

I do! I do!

I bought a fantastic racer-back sequined tank-top last week in my shopping binge. It was a $30 find from Forever21 (The retailer that’s like your most superficial friend ever. It starts out SO WONDERFUL and ends in shreds and tears and most likely an embarrassing situation.)

I wore it on Saturday night to Marie’s (my friend and faithful reader/commenter) birthday party and then out to a few other bars.

So here’s me with Marie:

This thing is a wearable disco ball. Notice how it’s reflecting light on my arm, on my face, probably all over Marie and the other bar patrons. I realized, though, there’s only 3 kinds of people who really like this shirt:

1) Gay guys. I had probably (no exaggeration) 8 guys tell me my shirt was “fabulous” and that I looked like Victoria Beckham or Beyonce. The day I look like Beyonce, I will quit my job and just be hot for a living. The day I look like Victoria Beckham, I’ll eat 15 grilled cheese sandwiches and wash them down with chocolate milkshakes. Although I do love her hair and wardrobe- I’d take those any day. And David. I’d also take him too.

2) Cats. I almost drove my friend’s cats into a wall-climbing frenzy when the sun reflected off the shirt in his condo.

3) Girls with guts. Some girls and guys would say things like “Um, wow. You’re so…shiny. Will that shirt cut my arm if I hug you?” Girls with guts would say “Ooooh!!! I LOVE IT! Gotta get me one of those!”

Sequins are a little Vegas show-girly, but I’m loving it for now. I think I can dress this top up or down and fit it into almost any setting. Except for funerals…I don’t think I could make that work. Unless, of course, the funeral was for a Vegas show girl. 🙂

Happy Monday!

-Jenny

Entry filed under: Celebrities, Fashion, Jenny, Seattle, Shopping.

Thanks and No Thanks, American Apparel. Finally- archives!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stephanie  |  August 6, 2007 at 3:10 pm

    You guys are so cute.
    I have to agree with the Vic Beck likeness of your top. I love it, though- And I am proud to say I don’t qualify as a “girl with a gut.” 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Summer  |  August 7, 2007 at 12:45 pm

    SHAZAM! I wish it were a dress!

    Reply
  • 3. jennyistrendi  |  August 7, 2007 at 1:22 pm

    Oooh! Now you’re talking!

    Reply
  • 4. punkthepump  |  August 8, 2007 at 11:49 am

    you look awsome also I am not gay xP I like ur blog ^^ I took your blog from blogcatalog 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. poster girl  |  August 10, 2007 at 1:04 am

    That sequin tank is amazing!! I bought it a few weeks ago at F21 and I have already worn it out 4 times. I get compliments on it every time! It is the perfect nighttime party top because it’s slinky, shiny, and versatile. I absolutely love it! The only downside is that it needs to be gently hand washed, as F21 garments aren’t known for their high quality 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Questions?

Email us at wearetrendi@gmail.com

Take me back to…


