Can you justify $539.06?

July 20, 2007 at 11:34 am 8 comments

Last week I mentioned a few pairs of shoes in my “ask Trendi” post. One of the shoes I mentioned were a pair of Cole Haan boots.

Um, yeah. These boots.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

$539.06 later, I now own these boots. It’s not that I’m having buyers remorse, but I need some help justifying the expense OR having someone tell me a better way to spend the money (preferably on clothes…I’m not looking for the “you could feed 15,000 kids in Africa” answer.)

They are every bit as comfortable as I thought they would be and they’re gorgeous. They don’t look like galoshes on me, which most tall boots end up looking like, and I’ve convinced myself they will go with jeans, skirts, dresses.

But I’m open to the possibility I might be better off buying other items for that amount instead of 1 pair of boots.

Just help, please help. What would you do?

-Jenny

Entry filed under: Fashion, Jenny, Shoes, Shopping.

The First Hug a Tree AND Make Mom Cringe

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lesley  |  July 20, 2007 at 12:58 pm

    My suggestion:

    Multiple pieces for that price. They do look nice, but I wouldn’t have been able to tell they are worth $500 dollars. 🙂

    Good luck with figuring it out. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. jennyistrendi  |  July 20, 2007 at 1:18 pm

    Thanks, Lesley. I am so torn, but you’re right. I could buy multiple pieces for the cost (and if I went the Forever 21 route, pretty much could buy half the store.)

    Reply
  • 3. Marie  |  July 20, 2007 at 2:57 pm

    Yes, however, your feet may not look half as classy in any “other” pair of shoes. Furthermore, the more you buy at forever 21, the more clothes you have to buy in general, because they just fall apart (God love ’em).

    (Is that a buckle at the top? Perhaps for cinching?? Oh, be still, my beating heart)

    Ok I am the queen of justification, so here goes:
    1. It is better to buy quality than quantity. In this case, you are getting far more leather than any normal everyday shoe, because they are boots, therefore they need to cost at least $200 more. So really, you bought a nice, comfy, designer pair of $300 shoes, with a good leather upper, for an extra $200 (don’t you love math when it comes from an art history major?).

    2. You’ll wear those into the ground. You can wear them with everything:
    – wrap dresses, skirts (office)
    – shorts (might be tough, but do-able) – out
    – under jeans, over jeans (out/home/office)
    – and my personal fav.: vaccuming, (just because they are fabulous)

    3. Just think of how much you spent on your prom dress. Ok, no factor in that that was (ahem..insert number) many years ago. Ok, now factor in how many times you’ve worn said prom dress. Nuf said.

    4. Once you drop that much on a pair of boots, you’ll understand why you did it, and you’ll never pay bottom-dollar for something your precious feet live in all day – – ever again. Your feet will thank you for taking care of them.

    Oh yeah, and…don’t ever take me shopping. I could go on and on and on..

    love,
    marie

    Reply
  • 4. Marie  |  July 20, 2007 at 3:06 pm

    PS – sorry for the long comment. I feel very strongly about these things. That and I also have a fabulous pair of Christian Laboutin heels on hold at Barneys, to be picked up tomorrow. So I might be justifying my own purchases, too ( a little ).

    Reply
  • 5. Jaclyn  |  July 23, 2007 at 1:18 pm

    Let me start by saying those boots are in fact gorgeous. They will go with everything and I need to agree with marie on all of her reasons you should keep them. You will be able to wear these boots so much. They are perfect for fall (perfect color, style) and of course they are Cole Haan boots, do we really need to say more. Why would you want to buy half of forever 21 when you can spruce up all of the amazing clothes you already have just by putting these gorgeous pieces of art on your feet?!?! I would say keep them. cherish them and love them!!!! Besides, you deserve it!!!


    Jaclyn

    Reply
  • 6. MetroBellevue  |  July 24, 2007 at 11:19 am

    Hey, those are awesome boots! Very nice. Definitely keep them.

    Reply
  • 7. jennyistrendi  |  July 24, 2007 at 2:16 pm

    So the boots are riding around with me in my car. I haven’t made any hard decisions yet, but I think I might exchange them for a pair of black ones.

    Honestly, all I really want to do is buy the black ones as well.

    Reply
  • 8. $539.06…Justfied? « WeAreTrendi  |  July 25, 2007 at 8:56 am

    […] July 25th, 2007 After hours of deep pondering, I returned the boots. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Questions?

Email us at wearetrendi@gmail.com

Take me back to…


