Brands on the chopping block

July 11, 2007 at 11:17 am 3 comments

Liz Claiborne, for those of you that don’t know, is not just a line of clothing that most women in their 20’s avoid like the plague. Liz Claiborne represents a large brand portfolio ranging from C&C California, Lucky Brand Denim, and Kate Spade (just to name a few.)

I just read that Liz Claiborne plans on selling, licensing out or discontinuing the following brands:

Granted, I haven’t heard of a few of these brands. (Tapemeasure? Stamp10?) but I was a little surprised about how many brands they are trying to unload.

It’s not just Liz that’s shedding brands. Limited Brands sold a stake of it’s company (the apparel side…Limited, Express, etc) so they could focus on Victoria Secret and Bath & Body Works. According to the Wall Street Journal, Limited Brands realized shoppers dislike buying matching outfits from widely distributed labels and are seeking a more individualized look. (Uh, no kidding.)

Another part of the problem is ‘fast retailers’ like H&M, Forever21, and Zara (a chain from Spain…It’s like Forever21 with a European twist.) churn out new fashions in a matter of weeks, whereas larger retailers take much longer and lose customer interest.

I also think young women shoppers are more concerned with the style of an item versus the brand. I would say I am very brand disloyal when it comes to fashion and I think most gals do not go out of their way to visit a store because they are tied to buying a specific brand.

Do you have any brands you love that you would miss if they ceased to exist? Or are you more concerned with the style of an item?

If I had to give a few fashion brands/items I am loyal to, here’s my short list:

New Balance running shoes

Ok, honestly, I thought about it for quite a few minutes and that’s all I came up with so far. 🙂

-Jenny

Entry filed under: Designers, Fashion, Jenny, Shopping.

Is it a dress or a shirt? Man-leggings

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stephanie  |  July 11, 2007 at 11:29 am

    Honestly I’ve got to say that I have been a loyal C&C gal for years… I’d be pretty bummed about losing them. I know they make simple basics that you can get from almost any brand, but I would take my C&C over James Perse or Michael Stars any day.

    Reply
  • 2. Marie  |  July 12, 2007 at 10:51 am

    I would positively slit my wrists (sorry to be so morbid, but it comes straight from my heart) if forever 21 went out of existance.

    Just a thought, but dear old Liz herself passed away a few weeks ago. Might this be a revamp on the Claiborne empire?

    RIP, Lizzie. Golden Girls everywhere will miss you.

    Reply
  • 3. Trista  |  July 12, 2007 at 3:13 pm

    I used to be totally loyal to Express for jeans, because they used to fit me perfectly! Of course, then they went and changed how they’re cut.

    I have several things from the Halogen line at Nordstrom that I like quite a bit, but that’s the only other thing that comes to mind.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Questions?

Email us at wearetrendi@gmail.com

Take me back to…


