It’s Tourist Season!

June 27, 2007 at 5:24 pm 1 comment

It’s tourist season in Seattle and I have had just about enough of the…

– Super-white walking shoes and windbreakers/North Face fleeces
– Backpacks
– Fanny packs (I saw a guy in quasi-tight old Levis, a short-sleeve dress shirt with American Flags covering it, tucked in, with the largest fanny pack just strapped around his middle. I actually yelled “Yes!” when I passed him and did the whole fist in the air thing because it was so awesomely bad.)
– Visors or hats embroidered with “SEATTLE!” or something touristy.
– Tour busses and “the Duck”

The problem is, how do you NOT look like a tourist? Chances are if you’re wandering around the city with another person or two, carrying shopping bags and eating at outdoor cafe’s, you’ve got to be a tourist.

But fashion wise, I want tourists to get a grip. Maybe swap the white tennies for a cooler, less noticeable pair of Pumas, like these from Nordstrom.

Instead of a windbreaker, maybe a nice fitted jacket like this (highly affordable $14.99) option at Target:

I know it’s hard to get around a backpack, but what about a tote instead? Still easy to carry and doesn’t SCREAM tourist. Plus, from a pick-pocketing standpoint, a zippered tote wedged under your arm is harder to get into than a backpack. I like this $38 tote from Urban Outfitters.

NOW we’re talking about a fashionable tourist! And anyone that’s fashionable is OK in my books. Even if they do ride the Duck. 🙂

Entry filed under: Fashion, Fashion no-no's, Jenny, Seattle, Shopping.

Be a Lady Jenny & I are Famous

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Marie  |  June 28, 2007 at 2:26 pm

    Retro fanny packs aren’t SO bad, but, like most fashion flubs, they need to be combined with the right vintage/retro pieces. Not for beginners.

    You know what I hate? All the shirt stores that are capitalizing on “Grey’s Anatomy” – pathetic! (though, I’m sure if I lived in like LA, or NYC, or Boston or somewhere else I’d totally buy one for my dad as a joke.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Questions?

Email us at wearetrendi@gmail.com

Take me back to…


