Co-Motion

June 20, 2007 at 10:17 am 6 comments

There’s a pretty sweet event coming up this weekend. A free fashion show presented by mf magazine:

I didn’t know about mf magazine until I saw a bulletin on MySpace for this event. I went to the magazine’s website and MySpace page to check it out. The magazine is a bi-monthly publication that “blends the best in independent music and fashion together in a revolutionary way not seen typically on your local newsstands.” That sentence alone got me pretty excited.

In addition to having a love for fashion (obviously), I am very passionate about music, so a magazine with both mediums combined is. . . pretty much amazing. The fact that the magazine covers independent music and fashion in particular, is even more rad.

Did I mention this ingenious publication is internationally distributed? I kid you not. In addition to mass distribution in the U.S. you can also find mf mag in Glasgow, Iceland, Germany, London, Paris and other parts of the UK. Where did an innovative creation like this come from? Straight out of Seattle. duh. You can buy the magazine from buyolympia.com, a local site that sells sweet random stuff.

The designers that will be featured at the show are local to Portland and Seattle: JenJoy, Millie Vixen, and Ivory Jacks. Surprisingly, we didn’t know of these talented designers. Check out some of their stuff:

I found this on JenJoy’s MySpace Page:

She “reconstructed” the 311 t-shirt into that hot little number. Wish I could do that.

Millie Vixen makes vintage-inspired clothing (with vintage fabric) – it rocks.

Make note of the fact that the bra she’s wearing is also a Millie Vixen original. Yes, Millie Vixen also does lingerie.

I couldn’t find any info on Ivory Jacks. According to their website which is under construction, they make “fossil mammoth ivory” items? Sounds pretty cool.

If you’re in Seattle this weekend, check out this event on Saturday at the Buddha Bar.

-Rachel

Entry filed under: Designers, Fashion, Networking, rachel, Seattle.

Fashion in Japan What about Bob?

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Marie  |  June 20, 2007 at 2:52 pm

    Great find! I just heard about this today, too and plan on going. Will you guys be there?

    Reply
  • 2. rachelistrendi  |  June 20, 2007 at 3:21 pm

    Marie: I’m going to try and make an appearance. You should help me talk Jenny into coming along 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. jennyistrendi  |  June 20, 2007 at 3:43 pm

    Hey, hey. Easy now.

    I totally want to go, but am meeting up with my friend Jack in that evening for a movie & drinks. And Jack is my BFF and I won’t crap on him.

    But I do love fashion….Sigh. I’ll try to make it work ladies. I’ll try.

    Reply
  • 4. Marie  |  June 20, 2007 at 3:55 pm

    Come! And bring Jack!
    (that was a bad effort, and it won’t work if I know Jenny)

    sigh.

    Ok, Rachel, if you go – I’ll be there and I’m blonde. That helps, I’m sure.

    Reply
  • 5. cb  |  June 21, 2007 at 11:05 am

    way to be on top of things rb. wish i was there so i could attend…

    Reply
  • 6. Dylan  |  June 21, 2007 at 6:47 pm

    I appreciate the tip Rach – I don’t know much about music or fashion (I’m trying to figure it out), but if it gets your stamp of approval, I’m there. Keep up the good work, and I look forward to it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Questions?

Email us at wearetrendi@gmail.com

Take me back to…


