Bag lady

June 18, 2007 at 12:27 pm 6 comments

I love handbags. I have a stockpile of old ones I don’t carry anymore, mainly because I beat the living daylights out of them, so I’m always on the lookout for the next perfect handbag. My main bag now is an enormous brown leather (I think Perlina?) bag from Nordstrom. It fits my laptop and all my other crap in it and takes a good beating daily without complaining.

I was checking out a few new bags on Bag, Borrow, or Steal and found one I love and one I hate. Can you guess which is which?

The Chanel Naked:
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
The Gustto Large Baca:
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I’ll make it easier for you to guess which one I would like. I have a lot of garbage in my purse. Like gum wrappers, squished protein bars, lip gloss, receipts…

HUM. Tough call huh?

Ok, I love the Gustto bag, hate the Chanel bag. Clear? Really? I think I had this purse when I was 8, but I put stickers all over the outside and shoved a Barbie on the inside. It looks cheap AND besides that, why would I want to show off my garbage and/or advertise I am carrying a wallet, cell phone, etc for someone to snatch?

Silly Chanel.

-Jenny

Entry filed under: Fashion, Fashion no-no's, handbags, Jenny, Shopping.

Fashion Stylists What’s “new-now”

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Marie  |  June 18, 2007 at 3:27 pm

    I was at the store (yes, buying more clothes) behind a girl in line the other day who had a big brown straw bag thrown over her shoulder. Cute bag. The issue was that the holes created in the woven bag were large enough for a small child to creep through, not to mention her cell phone, pen, feminine and otherwise personal items (I saw one,ahem), etc.

    This is along the same lines as clear bags. Unacceptable, unreasonable, and unsafe. Not to mention FUGLY.

    Way to call ’em out, Jenny! ( I bet Anna Wintour SO has one of those chanels )

    Reply
  • 2. Marie  |  June 18, 2007 at 3:41 pm

    PS – I totally have squished protien bars in the bottom of my purse too! Also there are lots of crushed restaurant mints that never quite had the chance to do their job.

    Reply
  • 3. Shanti  |  June 18, 2007 at 5:10 pm

    I saw some of the Chanel clear bags on the runway recently and I just don’t get it. Seriously? Maybe they’re fun for, like, when you’re on the beach in Morocco with your rich husband and all you have to carry are a water bottle, sunglasses, and lip gloss (these were the primary items in the bags on the runway), but outside of this scenario, I can’t see many real women carrying them.

    I have a gorgeous red leather bag that holds my 17″ laptop, work notebooks, and loads of other crap and necessary items, and it’s gorgeous and leathery and everything. Functionality, people! C’mon!

    😀

    I am liking this blog. Thanks for being out there 🙂 I am in the middle of starting my own blog at http://www.antishay.com but Ik haven’t really got it underway… yet.

    Cheers.

    Reply
  • 4. disneyrollergirl  |  July 11, 2007 at 1:02 pm

    Yeah, I’m over the clear bags. they look good in pictures and…um that’s about it!

    Reply
  • 5. jessica  |  September 4, 2007 at 4:55 pm

    thats silly, theyre clearly (no pun intended) not for putting all of that crap in. they’re just flashy and kind of cool i think, and the chanel logo pretty much balances out any “tackiness”, but its the same as having like, jellies, or metallic clothes. personally i think its cooler than an indistinguishable brown bag that probably has millions of others like it. dude ya gotta appreciate creativity!

    Reply
  • 6. schien  |  September 28, 2007 at 7:38 am

    if u have all the branded goods or gadgets that u want to show off, why not? if u are worry about ur tampons or pads, just buy a cute make-up case to stuff it in. welll… i like it but not love it. anyway, i wont buy it ‘cos i think it will go out of style soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Questions?

Email us at wearetrendi@gmail.com

Take me back to…


