Hot Summer Trend Alert!

June 13, 2007 at 3:14 pm 8 comments

Oh wow, gals. Check this out.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Who wouldn’t want to wear a sack as a dress? You can wear this all the way through 9 months of pregnancy and/or gaining 150 pounds.

As a woman, I am repulsed by this dress. I’m sure men must be even more disgusted. If I were a guy, I wouldn’t approach a girl in a dress like this because you don’t know what she’s hiding under it. A baby? Guns? Circus freaks?

It doesn’t work for anyone. If you’re small, you end up looking like the dress is eating you. If you’re larger, you look even LARGER and well, who wants that?

It looks like some designers have become lazy this summer. Add a waist? Oh no, no, no. It’s much easier to just put straps on a sheet and call it good.

(By the way, this dress is from JCrew.)

Entry filed under: Fashion no-no's, Jenny.

Kuukivi Pantyhose.

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Marie  |  June 13, 2007 at 3:58 pm

    The only suggestion that I’d have for someone who did some PMS shopping and was suckered into buying this because it was the only think that fit is this: BELT IT. It’s the only solution…then, for the sake of all mankind, you’d have to pair some sort of legging or something underneath.

    In JCrew’s defense…it IS a cute color. But man, if it’s making that toothpick of a model look pregnant, I’ll gain weight even THINKING about wearing it.

    Good call, Jen!

    Reply
  • 2. jennyistrendi  |  June 13, 2007 at 4:05 pm

    I love the color too, very much. I need to buy something in that color.

    I thought about the belt thing too. I should upload a picture of myself in a similar floaty type dress I bought and actually wore on Sunday. I got so much crap from people (Oh, is there a bun in the oven?) that I just don’t know if I can wear it again. I tried to pair it with a belt, but the dress I wore had an empire waist type of thing so it didn’t quite work with the belt.

    For this dress, I would suggest a thick belt..not a wussy 2-3 incher, but like a hearty 5 incher that wouldn’t allow any excess material to excape and pouch over the top.

    You’d have to have some guts to pull it off, but it could happen.

    Reply
  • 3. Sculptron  |  June 14, 2007 at 12:06 am

    Are you kidding me? It’s red, AND doubles as a beach umbrella? Sweeeeet!
    -the artinjexperts

    Reply
  • 4. Virginia  |  June 14, 2007 at 8:30 am

    OMG thank you! I couldn’t have said it better and am SOOOO glad to hear you feel the same way about the summer ‘trends’. It’s like, in an era where anorexia is the desired look, selling clothes to women that make us look 100 lbs heavier is not the way to build up our self confidence and body image. Buyer beware- this dress will make you fat. Maybe the FDA should instate some sort of food label version for clothes: Fat content: you will look 100 lbs heavier 🙂

    Thanks!

    Reply
  • 5. The Stiletto Effect  |  June 14, 2007 at 2:09 pm

    I’m sorry you all, but I do like the dress
    x0x0
    Su

    Reply
  • 6. jennyistrendi  |  June 14, 2007 at 2:52 pm

    Su- You’re probably not alone. 🙂 Otherwise J. Crew and other retailers wouldn’t be making them.

    It must be quite comfortable on a hot summer day! And even though I made fun of it, I do own a dress very similar to this one. (The dress and I have a love-hate relationship.)

    Jenny

    Reply
  • 7. Trista  |  June 14, 2007 at 3:36 pm

    I would pretty much only wear this dress when trying to smuggle something.

    Reply
  • 8. Marie  |  June 18, 2007 at 3:42 pm

    Yeah, like a baby elephant from the Zoo. Oh, wait…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Questions?

Email us at wearetrendi@gmail.com

Take me back to…


