A quick rant

June 6, 2007 at 3:21 pm 7 comments

Hi Guys, just a quick rant. Promise it’ll be short.

A few things I will NOT be wearing this summer:
1) Shorts overalls. I saw them on the clearance rack at the Gap Outlet. But besides that, we all know I hate them. (I am so sorry Marie. I really, really thought about what you said about them for a week or so and still shudder.)
2) Jellies. I bought into the craze a few years ago and realized how slimy they made my feet feel. Plus they’re just uncomfortable.
3) Bell bottoms. Rachel told me this morning she saw they were making a comeback. Please, no. I’ll wear wide leg pants (I am today) but NOT bell bottoms. COME ON fashion world, do something different. Don’t keep recycling crap.
4) Insane colored eye shadow. The gal that helped me at Starbucks this morning had on shiny, violent purple eyeshadow. Or maybe they were bruises. Can’t tell. Either way, keep unnatural colors away from my face. And aren’t these always the types of colors the Sephora gals try to pawn on you? “Oh sweetie! It will make your eyes POP!” Right.

I could probably add more, but I’ll leave it at that. Just a few things that were annoying me today. 🙂 PLEASE feel free to add your own trends you won’t be buying into this summer.

Entry filed under: Fashion, Fashion no-no's, Jenny.

Pepper the Ringdog Wow, Friday already?

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Andrea  |  June 7, 2007 at 11:19 pm

    I remember when I was a little younger my mom would NEVER let me get jellies or those plastic see-through shoes. She told me that that’s what my second-cousins wear in China because they can’t afford nicer shoes 😦 But I got over it quickly.

    For this summer’s wardrobe, I vow not to buy….

    1) Flip-flops (so flimsy)
    2) Another empire waist tank top. I sold most of mine to Plato’s Closet.
    3) A black peasant skirt (looks hideous after the first wash)
    4) Long tunics. I’m only 5’2” and it’s like wearing a very short dress.

    Reply
  • 2. Marie  |  June 8, 2007 at 3:32 pm

    1. Capris of any kind
    2. Any tops that are held up by anything with elastic bands (you know the ones? The ones that make fabric look ruffly or “ruched”? Ick.) Think Britney Spears.
    3. Espadrilles
    4. AMEN on the rainbow eyeshadow. I’d echo that and add also that the same rule applies to blush and lipgloss.
    5. Visors

    *I VOW to wear lots and lots of cute shortalls to prove Jen wrong. : ) (you’ll come around, I have confidance)

    **Never, under any circumstances, buy any kind of “alls” from the Gap. Sale, or otherwise. I’m talking edgy, high end styles. No less.

    Reply
  • 3. jennyistrendi  |  June 8, 2007 at 4:52 pm

    I second the Capris. I seriously hate them. Every time I put a pair on I rip them off immediately because I feel like a soccer mom. All I would need is a minivan or enormous SUV, logo’d Coach bag and 2 kids to complete the equation.

    Long tunics are so tough on women that aren’t tall enough to pull them off. It does end up looking like a dress. Although, I had a tall friend (5’8”) go into I think BCBG and a sales girl tried to tell her a shirt was a dress. The salesperson eventually recanted and said “well, it could be a dress if you were 5-2”

    Reply
  • 4. Marie  |  June 11, 2007 at 12:26 pm

    Ok, one more.

    Large, bright plastic jewlery. Plastic “chains” with any sort of charms dangling from them should not be worn past the age of … oh, say, 5.

    And if your makeup matches your chain, please go buy an issue of Lucky or Nylon magazine and fix yourself.

    Reply
  • 5. Stephanie  |  June 11, 2007 at 12:48 pm

    I apologize to any who might be offended, but I am 100% anti patent leather, especially in neon colors.

    Reply
  • 6. vivian  |  June 12, 2007 at 3:18 pm

    i like unnaturally colored eye shadow & lipstick & everything. but that’s just me.

    Reply
  • 7. Virginia  |  June 14, 2007 at 8:40 am

    please can they stop selling:

    1- super low rise pants….or at least strictly enforce that women buy a size larger than normal so a healthy girl doesn’t end up giving herself love handles that she wouldn’t have had she opted for a) a bigger size or b) a slightly higher rise

    2- maternity style shirts & dresses. Yes I know everyone in hollywood is on the baby making kick- but the only people that maternity shirts flatter are pregnant women…I know all of the designers are making them…sorry guys, just don’t like ’em on anyone 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Questions?

Email us at wearetrendi@gmail.com

Take me back to…


