Ask Trendi, Volume 2- Updated!

June 1, 2007 at 12:07 pm 2 comments

Here are some of our favorite questions from this week:

  1. What trends are emerging in denim? What should I buy?
  2. I am going to a formal black tie fund raiser. Do I have to wear a long gown?
  3. How can I help my boyfriend’s style without intimidating him?

Don’t worry, Jenny’s answers will be posted soon.

What trends are emerging in denim? What should I buy?

Rachel: Here are a few emerging trends as far as jeans go:

  • White jeans
  • High-waisted jeans
  • Skinny jeans (They are still hot but be sure they aren’t tapered because the really skinny ones are no longer acceptable)
  • Wide legged/boy cut

Here is what I recommend you buy (assuming you have the funds to afford these . . . I certainly don’t):

Rich and Skinny is a great brand to go with. The cut of the jean is flattering especially for skinny jeans. They’re not too low, the denim itself is high-quality, and the color of them is neutral so you can wear them easily during the day or at night.

Go with the Rich and Skinny Straight-Leg… these are a good standard pair:

Rich and Skinny Straight-Leg

If you have the funds to buy another, I’d also recommend the Rich and Skinny Free Straight-Leg white jeans. Why not Kill two birds with one stone?

Rich and Skinny Free Straight-Leg

Jenny: Wow. Rachel really took the cake here. I don’t have much to add, other than I am looking forward to crisp denim this fall. I’m soooo over the worn, washed, whisker-striped denim. Even though I do have a pair of ripped up Diesels that I love and wear the heck out of.

I am going to a formal black tie fund raiser. Do I have to wear a long gown?

Rachel: Yes. If it was a formal black tie dinner, I would say no.
Jenny: I disagree with Rachel on this one. I think you shouldn’t wear a miniskirt, but some dresses that are knee length can be so elegant. I wouldn’t limit it to only long gowns.

 

How can I help my boyfriend’s style without intimidating him?

Rachel: Alright, here’s the deal . . . If he likes going shopping, then this wont be a difficult task. I’m assuming he doesn’t because he’s a guy, so you’ll just have to drag him to go shopping with you. So, go shopping with the boy and suggest things that you think would look good on him. Don’t pick out ‘outfits’ just find single pieces like a shirt or a pair of pants and let him decide what goes with it so he doesn’t feel like you’re trying to be his Mom and dress him.

Be cautious. You can’t completely change his style. Even if he has horrid taste, he hasn’t asked for your help and he probably a) doesn’t care about style and b) doesn’t want to hear that you don’t like how he dresses.

Here’s another option… While he’s getting dressed (the key is that you be at his house when he’s getting dressed because if you say something about his attire when he shows up to meet you somewhere, then he’ll think you’re being a naggy bitch) say something like “Will you wear this shirt instead? It’s one of my favorites on you.” Eventually he’ll catch on. No matter what it will be a long process to change his style and make sure that he’s disaster free 100% of the time.

Jenny: It can be really hard for guys to break out of a clothing mold. Really, they have way fewer options than us gals do. Buying him a “gift” of a great shirt or shoes and then making sure all your friends compliment him on it works. Complimenting his friends who have style works too. (He’ll get competitive.)

If all else fails, it helps to get a few drinks into him and then take him shopping. 🙂

Entry filed under: Ask Trendi, Fashion, Jenny, rachel, Shopping.

Flashback! Fashion, Friends, and Fishnets

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jimmy Gambier  |  June 1, 2007 at 12:15 pm

    “Will you wear this shirt instead? It’s one of my favorites on you.”

    I knew there was a master plan behind this.

    Reply
  • 2. Isis  |  June 2, 2007 at 11:57 am

    I tried this technique on my boyfriend and it worked out PERFECTLY! He now even agrees with me that he dresses a lot better. When we just met he simply didn’t care to spend money on clothing and how he looked.
    One of the first things I tried to make clear to him is which colours look good on him.
    Now I can confidently let him do his shopping alone.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Questions?

Email us at wearetrendi@gmail.com

Take me back to…


