Ask Trendi, Volume 1

May 25, 2007 at 12:12 pm 2 comments

So you have questions and we’ve got answers! Here’s our favorite questions from this week:

1) What are some fashion tips for “casual Friday’s” in the office?
2) What do you think about espadrilles?
3) I’m on a tight budget. What should I buy for my summer wardrobe?

What are some fashion tips for “casual Friday’s” in the office?

Jenny: If your office usually wears suits to work, then relax it a bit and wear business casual dress slacks or a skirt. If your company is usually business casual, then feel free to wear denim. BUT play it safe!

-No ripped denim
-No dirty shoes
-No sweatshirts
-No skimpy tops
-No short shorts or skirts

Here’s some things to “do”:

-Dark, well fitting denim skirts (at least below where your fingertips hit on your legs) and jeans
-Any of the tops you’d wear on business casual days
-Comfortable, stylish shoes
-Tees with blazers

Rachel: I agree with all of the above. I would definitely try to take advantage of casual Fridays at the office. It’s a chance to show off what you’ve got going on. I’m not suggesting you come to work dressed like a hooker. I’m suggesting you take this opportunity to show everyone at the office how creative, stylish, and savvy you really are. Sometimes it’s hard to express your fashion sense when you’re required to show up to work in business attire.

What do you think about espadrilles?

Jenny: I’m getting tired of anything with a platform or wedge heel and espadrilles usually have one or the other. BUT having said that, I think they’re ok with a summer dress for an afternoon out. They are decently comfortable, but they do have a very casual look to them. Don’t pair them with nice pants or dresses. Think cotton dresses, shorts, tanks and tees.

Rachel: Eh.. I’m not a huge fan. They keep coming in and out of style. It’s kind of bothersome that I wore an awkward pair of espadrilles when I had objectionable, ill-favored “style” at age 14. However, last year I purchased this pair of Franco Sarto espadrilles:

Franco Sarto espadrilles

I think they are dated even though I know I’ll probably wear them a couple of times this summer. There are some really hideous espadrilles, so please be careful . . . for everyone’s sake.
I’m on a tight budget. What should I buy for my summer wardrobe?

Jenny: I am a huge fan of dresses in the summer. They’re comfortable, cool, looked pulled together and can be dressed up or down. (Unless you’re wearing the dress from hell.)

If you’re on a tight budget, I suggest buying 1 dress in a cotton jersey knit, 1 skirt in a crisp cotton blend, 1 pair of ‘dress’ shorts, and inexpensive tees and tanks. Then just mix and match! Buy a pair of sandals you love that can be worn with something casual or dressy. Swing by Claires and get some jewelry and voila! Good to go! You should be able to wear most of the items to a business-casual work environment or out on the town.

Rachel: Good call, Jennaaay. Also, I suggest looking for some of the above items at the following retailers:

  • Old Navy (I know it sounds a little scary, but you can find some really legit items for less than $10.)
  • Forever 21 (obviously)
  • Target (Who doesn’t love this place? Some really cute inexpensive swimsuits here.Jenny just got a really cute one from here.)
Entry filed under: Ask Trendi, Fashion, Fashion no-no's.

Substantial Evidence That We Are Trendi Welcome back! Weekend highlights…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Marie  |  May 25, 2007 at 1:50 pm

    Good thing you didn’t have to wear the dress from hell with espadrilles.

    Regarding the gal on a budget, if I may add my two cents: Secondhand, baby!!! Secondhad shopping, if you have the time, patience, and taste, is by far the best shopping for budgets! And, if you don’t like emulating the cookiecutter manequin drone that everyone else copycats over, it’s your best creative bet. Some distant cities far away from metropolitan locales offer clothing by the pound. Typical charges are $2-3/lb. Score!

    Reply
  • 2. Andrea  |  June 4, 2007 at 7:24 pm

    I agree with the gal above me. If you aren’t adverse to used clothing, Plato’s Closet is a good option for young, trendy clothing. I’ve sold and shopped there a couple times, and it’s a pretty good deal. Any one item, even dresses, is guaranteed to be under $25. Their pricing policy is partly based on brand names, so you’re sure to find a pair of A&F jeans or Forever 21 tops or whatever your fancy.

    http://www.platoscloset.com/locations.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Questions?

Email us at wearetrendi@gmail.com

Take me back to…


