Fashion No-no’s- Updated!

May 21, 2007 at 4:05 pm 13 comments

I enjoy people watching. Absolutely love it. Part of what I enjoy about people watching is seeing what some people will walk around in public in.

Here’s a few of my fashion no-no’s for the summer.

1. Unflattering swim wear. Seems like a real no-brainer, right? WRONG. So, so wrong. I saw a 45ish year old woman wearing a hot pink bikini with lime-green ruffles and shiny beading. And the majority of the ruffles/beading were around her hips. Unless you’re 8 years old and don’t have hips, it’s not a good idea to draw attention there. A nice, simple bikini would have suited her MUCH better.

2. Baggy, cropped pants. Just not a good idea, really. There’s one thing to be said for wide legged pants that fit well through the hips and thighs, but another when something is just plain baggy. It adds weight where there may have not been much weight, ya know? I’m not a proponent of skin-tight pants either but just wear something that FITS. FLATTER yourself. I saw a lot of baggy, cropped pants in the airport this weekend. I know people want to be ‘comfortable’ when they travel, but you can be comfortable and not look homeless.

3. Chunky platform flipflops. (This is Rachel’s contribution but I WHOLLY support it.) JUST say no. They’re not cute. I wore them in 9th grade and that wasn’t exactly last year.

Have any of your own no-no’s to add?

*Update!* A few of the additions from the comments:

4. VPL
5. Midriff- baring tops
6. Shoes that lace up your calves
7. Shorts that are so short the pockets show out the bottom
8. PJ’s outside of the house
9. Multi-colored cowboy boots
10. Trucker hats
11. Scrunchies
12. Socks with Sandals
13. This outfit: (Which by the way, I took this pic with my digital camera aimed at my BlackBerry screen.)
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Entry filed under: Fashion no-no's, Jenny, rachel.

In The Mix Just say “no”

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Marie  |  May 22, 2007 at 8:15 am

    VPL. Nuf said.

    And any midriff-baring pieces in general. No one wants/needs to see your bedazzled bellybutton.

    Shoes – strappy, open-toed, or otherwise – that lace up your calves (can someone please explain this trend to me?)

    Reply
  • 2. Stephanie  |  May 22, 2007 at 10:46 am

    How about shorts that are so short your pockets are hanging out the bottom? I can’t stand that.

    I also believe pajamas are only meant to be worn while sleeping. If you honestly can’t muster up the strength to change into real pants, then just stay home… and keep your fuzzy slippers at home as well.

    Reply
  • 3. Marie  |  May 22, 2007 at 10:53 am

    Yeah, it seems safe to say that anything you’ve seen Britney Spears wear – no – even IMAGINE Britney Spears wearing…is a DON’T.

    Speaking of…any variety of multi-colored cowboy boots should go on this list. As should trucker hats and/or scrunchies. There are much better ways to keep your hair out of your face…

    Reply
  • 4. jennyistrendi  |  May 22, 2007 at 12:35 pm

    SCRUNCHIES! I haven’t worn one of those since, oh, 7th grade. Loved how they doubled as bracelets. 🙂

    Steph- I am so with you on the short shorts with the pockets hanging out. Hasn’t Abercrombie been pushing this style since 1999? It’s gross.

    My other no-no I want to add: calf-high boots, with heels, worn with nylons, a short, torn denim mini skirt and black corset top. I was walking behind a girl this morning on my way to work that was wearing this outfit. It was so bad…I took 3 pictures of it with my phone’s camera.

    Reply
  • 5. Stephanie  |  May 22, 2007 at 12:55 pm

    Is it wrong to post photos of random victims? Because I would love to see this girl. You could copy Vogue and block out the faces of the fashionably challenged…

    Oh scrunchies… My husband works with a girl who still wears them AND flaunts her Toby Keith coat with PRIDE. It’s horrible, really. She also commits another no-no I would like to add to the list: Socks with sandals!!! Eeeew!

    Reply
  • 6. jennyistrendi  |  May 22, 2007 at 1:01 pm

    I think I can post it. I took it from behind, so her face isn’t in it…just the tragic outfit she wore. I need to figure out how to get it from my phone to my laptop. Feel so challenged…

    Reply
  • 7. Stephanie  |  May 22, 2007 at 1:08 pm

    Send it to your email and save it onto your computer…

    Reply
  • 8. jennyistrendi  |  May 22, 2007 at 3:05 pm

    I am trying. I got a new BlackBerry and it doesn’t give me the option to send it to my email. I’ll figure it out.

    Reply
  • 9. Marie  |  May 22, 2007 at 3:30 pm

    I NEED TO SEE IT, TOO!

    It was pouring this morning. Why on earth was she wearing that poor outfit? ICK.

    (But is it better than the granola we normally see in these parts?)

    Reply
  • 10. Marie  |  May 22, 2007 at 4:02 pm

    NUH UH!

    It’s blasphemy to the Fashion Gods (and yes, I just capitalized that)

    Reply
  • 11. Stephanie  |  May 23, 2007 at 10:02 am

    Yeah, that is pretty horrible. The worst part is, you know that when she left the house she was thinking, “I look goooooooood!”

    Reply
  • 12. Andrea  |  May 23, 2007 at 8:52 pm

    I don’t know if it’s strictly “summer” clothing, but holes in your panty-hose is just wrong…Recently, there were a series of pictures of Britney Spears with torn fishnets and a mini skirt. I already thought the pairing of the two was in poor taste, but the holes in her panty-hose were disgusting. Really, really poor taste.

    Reply
  • 13. christine sutin  |  June 25, 2007 at 6:34 pm

    Ultra low-rise jeans with the thong underwear peeking above the “waist”line: THAT,to me, is the big fashion no-no. “Plumber crack” is also an unacceptable look, right up there with: tattoos,body piercing,and anything else that screams “Trailer Trash.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Questions?

Email us at wearetrendi@gmail.com

Take me back to…


