3 reasons why I’m fashion challenged today

May 17, 2007 at 9:48 pm 9 comments

I flew to Arizona this morning to attend a graduation for a dear, dear friend. I flew Alaska Air from Seattle to Phoenix, then drove 2 hours to the graduation in Tucson. Seems like this wouldn’t really impact my fashion, right? Wrong. Here’s 3 reasons why it did:

1) Alaska Air lost my bag. The Phoenix Alaska Air had 16 bags lost today. All of them were found just a few hours later, except for mine. No one knows where my bag is. Thank you, Alaska. (I do have to say the 2 gals who work for Alaska in Phoenix were extremely nice and helpful.)

2) I planned on wearing the purple dress I bought from RAW Threads (remember this cute dress?)
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Instead I wore this heinous number from Forever21.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
(At least I liked my flats I picked up at Target.)

3) I’m driving a Dodge Caliber. I don’t even want to link to it. It is NOT a good car. The pickup is weak, it’s loud, a little rumbly, crumbly, all around fugly. (Kristoph, our CTO, can also attest to how horrid this car is.)

I spent a good few frantic hours this afternoon driving to Tucson, navigating Tucson’s endless strips of shopping malls and THEN not even going to the hotel and showing in a local gym that was kind enough to understand my plight.

Wow. Really, not a good fashion day for me.

Agreed? Agreed.

Tomorrow I’ll let you know how I fare pulling together a fashionable outfit from the local strip-mall stores. 🙂

Entry filed under: Fashion, Fashion no-no's, Jenny, Seattle, Shopping, Uncategorized.

The art of the hunt (and kill) In The Mix

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ourglobo  |  May 17, 2007 at 10:30 pm

    Have fun in sunny Arizona….Jenny and pick up a few more tips for us…….
    thanks again……

    Go! Globo Stan 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Marie  |  May 18, 2007 at 8:38 am

    Is it just me, or does that “heinous number” actually include a built-in tank? If so, sick. If not, nice improv.

    Really, though. It’s not bad. Could be worse. You could be Britney Spears and wear it with neon blue leggings, some fugly sort of hat, and maybe cowboy boots?

    At least its little, lightweight, and automatically air conditioned.

    Reply
  • 3. Marie  |  May 18, 2007 at 8:39 am

    PS – I love the variety in your facial expression. Tells it all, really.

    Reply
  • 4. jennyistrendi  |  May 18, 2007 at 8:48 am

    I ended up accidentally tearing the dress at one point last night as I was sitting down. The tearing sound simultaneously pissed me off AND was satisfying. I ended up ripping it even more, on purpose, later. I then wadded it up and threw it in the corner of the closet. I’m going to leave it there for the cleaning ladies to deal with.

    It wasn’t a built-in tank, but was a tank I was wearing already yesterday on the plane. I needed to improv. And I wore the tank to bed…oh the things you do when you have no clothes!

    Reply
  • 5. Stephanie  |  May 18, 2007 at 11:34 am

    Marie was right, the difference in facial expressions is priceless. The “heinous number” look gives the impression that your mom made you wear the dress to some sort of family function which you did NOT want to attend. I love it.
    I’d like to think that upon finding the dress, the cleaning lady figures, “Ah what the hell?” and mends it to her liking. Then one day when you’re randomly visiting Tucson again, you’ll see her wearing it and have a good laugh. It could happen, right?

    Reply
  • 6. Marie  |  May 18, 2007 at 12:20 pm

    Yeah! Or she might make it a tablecloth. Or a nice doily chair cover. ; )

    Any luck on the bag??

    Reply
  • 7. jennyistrendi  |  May 18, 2007 at 12:52 pm

    JUST GOT A CALL! The airline found my bag. It should be here today around 4pm. And FYI, I leave here tomorrow morning. But whatever, I’m so glad they found it!

    I did just buy a very cute bathing suit, skirt, 2 tanks, and flip flops at Target. (Thank you, Alaska, for reimbursing me.)

    I’ll take a pic and post it.

    Reply
  • 8. Marie  |  May 20, 2007 at 12:46 pm

    Sweet! A trip to AZ, a FREE suit and some various and sundry clothes, AND all your stuff back? You’re so money – even if you did have to wear a doily to graduation.

    You’re SO trendi!

    Reply
  • 9. Ask Trendi, Volume 1 « WeAreTrendi  |  May 25, 2007 at 12:13 pm

    […] Jenny: I am a huge fan of dresses in the summer. They’re comfortable, cool, looked pulled together and can be dressed up or down. (Unless you’re wearing the dress from hell.) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Questions?

Email us at wearetrendi@gmail.com

Take me back to…


