Street Scramble

April 30, 2007 at 12:51 pm 2 comments

This weekend I participated in the Street Scramble in Seattle’s University District. It’s amazing how this event relates to building a business.

1) My perception of how far I can walk/run in 1.5 hours is totally messed up. Our team lost…big time. We got our butts kicked by 7 year olds AND 2 of our team members are training to run a marathon.

Lesson: You do not know everything. Age and skill set doesn’t always matter when it comes to competition.

2) Seattle residents love spandex and weird human leashes. (I kid you not- I saw 2 separate couples using hands-free dog leashes with EACH OTHER. No dogs involved. People.)

Lesson: People are weird and you’ll never understand them fully. You can not predict what will be popular. There’s a market (no matter how small) for just about anything.

3) If I was smart I would have worn spandex instead of a pair of old Sevens. I ended up running. A lot.

Lesson: Be prepared.

4) College-guy style hasn’t changed in YEARS. White sneakers? Abercrombie jeans? Blue and white checked button down? Check, Check, Check. SNORE.

Lesson: Herd mentality in fashion applies way more to guys than it does to girls.

5) I saw a homeless guy with his business cards propped up next to him. He has business cards and I don’t…what’s going on here?

Lesson: Get business cards.

Entry filed under: Business, Fashion no-no's, Jenny, Seattle.

Gross…part 2 My clothes hate me.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bryan  |  April 30, 2007 at 3:42 pm

    Jenny

    On College-Guy Style… you forgot to mention fleece! North Face, Ralph Lauren, Nautica… take your pick. Easily as much of a staple as the white South Carolina GameCocks hat, no matter where you go to school.

    Speaking of Spandx… I read an interesting article in Entrepreneur Magazine (which would take me at least 30 times to spell correctly) The article featured Sara Blakely, founder of Spandx, Inc. Check the article out below… .

    http://www.entrepreneur.com/magazine/entrepreneur/2007/may/177122.html

    Keep up the great Blog.

    Best,

    Bryan

    Reply
  • 2. vivian  |  May 8, 2007 at 11:29 am

    did you take one of his business cards? were they awesome? i want to talk to him.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Questions?

Email us at wearetrendi@gmail.com

Take me back to…


