No thanks?

April 23, 2007 at 4:38 pm 4 comments

Imagine you’re a girl (if you’re not one). You’re dressed cute and you’re feelin’ it…you know you look good. You’re walking down the street to meet a friend for lunch…

…then a homeless guy yells at you “Gotta getmesomma that! Hey pretty girl…howyadoin? OooohWeeee!”

Do you feel:

a) Offended. Violated. Embarrassed. Oh-my-gosh! I am NOT a hooker!
b) Gee, Wow! Thanks!!!! I KNOW, right??!!
c) You pretend to ignore it, act like you didn’t hear, keep your head down. But a smile jerks at the corner of your mouth anyway and you LOVE it, even though the guy who yelled it has been hammered off of Mad Dog for 3 solid days.

Don’t try to lie. You know you’re either a b or a c.

And the sad thing is, that homeless guy is more appreciative your sense of style than other people would be. I try to make it my point to compliment people when I see something I really like- even if I don’t know them. You, my dear, should try the same.

But until you stop me on the street to compliment my style, I’ll take the whooping from homeless guys.

Entry filed under: Seattle.

Fashion Week(end) If it’s online, is it real?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Marie  |  April 24, 2007 at 12:14 pm

    D) Smile and flash a little leg.

    But only if I’m in a good mood, otherwise it’s:

    E) “Oh you like it? Why don’t you take a eff*ng picture, buddy?!”

    Reply
  • 2. jennyistrendi  |  April 24, 2007 at 12:42 pm

    I like option D, but I imagine it gets awkward when one wears jeans and tries to flash some leg skin. It then becomes the debate of do I pull the jeans up from the ankle? Or unbutton and unzip and flash some upper thigh?

    And then one really looks like a hooker. Not that I would know. But one would assume…

    Reply
  • 3. Marie  |  April 27, 2007 at 3:11 pm

    Yeah – the jeans thing would be an issue…

    I think a little mock – curtsy would be appropriate. Or, if you’re daring you could do a little shimmy/shake. That would work miracles, I bet.

    The lengths we go to to please homeless men…*sigh.

    Which reminds me of a funny story – I was across from the See-Sound lounge last summer around 6PM and had a very odd interaction with an “excited”, we’ll say, homeless man. It went something like this: (and we’ll call him Homey, because he was homeless)

    Homey:”Can I bum a cig, honey?”
    Me: “Sorry, don’t smoke, just in here to get a granola bar”
    Homey: “Ah, no, girl, it’s cool. It’s cool. Hey, you know I’m not doing anything for the next 6 hours, want to come back to my place and…you know…hang out?”

    (marie’s note: midnight is the shelter curfew – it was 6PM when I met Homey)

    Me: “Um, nah, that’s cool. I actually have this birthday party thing to go to, but thanks…I guess.”
    Homey: “well can I at least get a kiss….?

    Yes, a nice homeless gentleman invited me back to his shelter with him because I flashed a little leg. Where are the good men in this city? Is this all a girl can get? Ok…rambling on…

    Reply
  • 4. Kristoph  |  May 7, 2007 at 10:44 pm

    … look for the double-take, or that not so subtle and not so casual look back … that’s our version of “Gotta getmesomma that! Hey pretty girl…howyadoin? OooohWeeee!” …

    political correctness in actions 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Questions?

Email us at wearetrendi@gmail.com

Take me back to…


