12 inch zipper

April 18, 2007 at 11:15 am 3 comments

I have had a few email debates with my friend Marie over high-waisted jeans. I argue that no woman should be wearing something with a 12 inch fly and Marie argues that they will work on some people. (She’s one of them. She totally rocked high waisted jeans last week.)

I have taken an issue with high-waisted jeans. Sure, they’re supposed to be super-hot this Spring but no one can convince me I should wear them. NO ONE. Just try. Something is so incredibly gross about zipping a fly for more than a split second. ziiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii…..iiiiiiiiiiip! Its like closing the zipper on a large duffel bag or suitcase.

This post sums up perfectly why high-waisted jeans are not for everyone.

Entry filed under: Celebrities, Fashion no-no's.

The view from the top Crunchy

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. stephanie  |  April 18, 2007 at 3:29 pm

    I was just about to email you to ask if you had seen that fug. I’m with you, Jen. You will NEVER see me in those things. EVER. On the premiere of Stacy London’s talk show, “Shut Up! It’s Stacy London,” she had a few girls try on some of the new trends to see how they liked them. One of them wore super high waisted white pants from Diesel and let me tell you… while her butt looked mighty fine, the rest did not. And the waist folds over when you sit down. How supremely un-flattering…

    Reply
  • 2. Marie  |  April 20, 2007 at 9:30 am

    While I’m on board with the trend…I approach it with extreme – and I do mean EXTREME – caution.

    Stephanie, you said “while her butt looked mighty fine, the rest did not. And the waist folds over when you sit down. How supremely un-flattering…” To which I’d respond that if you find the exact right height of waist – the upper part actually acts as a girdle – which, I won’t lie, is kind of awesome. See the Miss Sixty ones for an example…I think Diesel also does a super-high/skinny pair in dark indigo.

    On the other hand, if you’ve even eaten a lima bean the day you choose to wear these jeans, your tummy will look bigger than the 7th month of your pregnancy, and your bum just could look like…well…I won’t really go there – but suffice it to say you’ll totally have a mom-butt – no matter how thin you actually are.

    Here’s the thing – in my opinion, if you’re not totally sold out on hardcore fashion (like, believeable hardcore fashion – not just “oh, yeah, I totally shop at Nordstrom and, like, the Gap” – this trend will NOT work on you. You have to have a little funk. A little…je ne sais quoi that people can’t really figure out. It can’t be predictable.

    Honestly – I’ve always believed that predictable fashion is so…contrived. And high-waist denim, my friends, is SO not planned…it’s less of a trend, the opposite of contrived, and more of a lifestyle kind of style.

    To be honest, I tried on a good 20 pairs (and vomited every time) before I finally found my golden nugget.

    Happy shopping, everyone!

    Reply
  • 3. vivian  |  May 9, 2007 at 1:33 pm

    HAHAHAHAHAH so i read this post and then told my mom this:

    “hey guess what mom… gao yao jeans (high-waist) are going to be “in style” this season. you’ll be able to find jeans that go up to your belly button once again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

    she responded with:
    “Yehh…, finally, I can have the pants I like. And won’t looks I have a big belly. I have been waiting for a long long time. ”

    it’s just funny cause she is a 50 something chinese lady. aye mate.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Questions?

Email us at wearetrendi@gmail.com

Take me back to…


