‘A’ for Productivity!

March 27, 2007 at 4:19 pm Leave a comment

It was a quiet day in the Trendi office yesterday and I was very productive.

…with the exception of a minor lapse where I browsed GFY and giggled to myself for a while. Well, and other than the 20 minutes when our neighbors at the office next door or downstairs started BLASTING country music and hammering away at something, my attention was razor sharp. Um, and other than 11:30-12:30 when I went to lunch with two good friends from Varolii (Hi Jason & Cully).

Truly, though,…I did get a LOT done yesterday.

My point is that productivity shouldn’t be measured in the hours you spend sitting at your desk staring at a computer screen. Productivity should be measured in what you output, very much like the Best Buy model.

I think too many companies forget this and employees get bored. I’m sure some of you think the greatest thing in the world would be to have a low-key, boring job, but trust me, it’s not fun. The minute that happens, the employee disengages with the company and starts coasting. It’s not good for the employee’s happiness or the company’s success.

As Trendi grows and changes, I hope we always realize the value of each person involved in the company is what they contribute…not how long they sit at their desk and push papers (or in this digital world, shuffle spreadsheets or browser tabs.)

Entry filed under: Trendi Office.

Ooh la la! What do you need a microwave for…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Questions?

Email us at wearetrendi@gmail.com

Take me back to…


